Glory in Death by J.D. Robb

This entry is part [part not set] of 26 in the series In Death Series

Book review: 2 Treasure Boxes
In Death Series, Book 2

A good futuristic suspense novel featuring Eve Dallas. This is the second book in the series and it is in the same vein as the first book.  It is about Lieutenant Eve Dallas, a tough, smart, likable homicide detective.  In each book she solves a crime and finds the killer.  The book also encompasses her entire life including her personal relationships. 

 She has had a very tough childhood.  She was terribly abused, physically, mentally and sexually until she was 8 years old.  She has no memory of her life prior to that when she was found on the street with her arm broken, she was also naked, terrified, and beaten.  She is however plagued with recurring flash-back nightmares.

She did not even remember her name. A name was given to her at that time and she was put into the foster care system. Once she grew up she decided to go into law enforcement.  Being a homicide detective really defines who she is and helps her to find her place in the world. She is the best of the best and gives her all to each case she solves.  She really cares for the victims and it is really important for her to find the killer.

There was a fair bit concerning the relationship between Eve and her hot boyfriend Roake, which is always fun to read about.  We also get to know more about her best friend Mavis in this book. Eve is working closely with Captain Ryan Feeney (Head of the Electronics Detection Division (EDD)) on this case. He is another person who is very important to Eve.  She thinks of him as a father figure.  He trained and partnered with her for years.  He helped her to become the detective she is today. We also watch Eve starting to form the beginnings of new friendships with Nadine Furst (a TV reporter) and Dr. Charlotte Mira (the police psychiatrist.)

This book had a bit of suspense as well as some nail biting at the end of the book. The twist in the story helped to keep things interesting. It was a complete stand alone story.  The series is really about Eve’s changing life with a complete murder mystery solved in each book. I liked this book, it was an enjoyable read and I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

Series Navigation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.