Portrait in Death by J. D. Robb

This entry is part [part not set] of 26 in the series In Death Series

Book Review: 3 Treasure Boxes
In Death Series, Book 18
Publisher: Brilliance Audio, Listening Length: 11 hours and 32 minutes (320 pages), ASIN: B0019ZWM4M

Young vibrant adults are being murdered for their “light” and the murderer is reflecting it in pictures of these dead youths. Eve sorts through the clues hoping to find and stop the killer. Meanwhile, Roarke has some really touching and emotional revelations about his mother.

To date she has written 42 books in the series, with one more expected to be released in February of 2012.  These are crime drama, suspense and romance because they focus on the case Eve is currently working on as well as her and Roake’s personal relationship. This is a futuristic suspense that takes place in 2059 in New York City. The books are told in a third person narrative that focuses primarily on Lieutenant Eve Dallas, but at times the story is also told through some of the other characters including the murderer. They are written by Nora Roberts under the pseudonym of J. D. Robb.

This was a fun book to read, I enjoyed the banter between Eve and Peabody. Following Eve as she solved the case was its usual interesting trip.  There is an intriguing side story surrounding Roake’s childhood, particularly details about his mother which were very touching and sweet.

Portrait in Death is a standalone story and it built up to an exciting ending. This is a must read for fans of In Death. I will definitely be reading the next book in the series.


To Purchase: “Portrait in Death” from Amazon, click here or on picture above1 FREE Audiobook RISK-FREE from Audible

Series Navigation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.