Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

This entry is part [part not set] of 3 in the series The Hunger Games

Book Review: 3 Treasure Boxes
The Hunger Games Trilogy: Book 2
Publisher: Scholastic Press; Reprint edition (July 1 2010), Paperback: 384 pages, ISBN-10: 0439023521, ISBN-13: 978-0439023528

For the first time in 74 years there are two survivors in the annual hunger games. Katniss and Peeta have just beat the system and came out as victors, just to face the games once again but this time with shocking results.

Catching Fire is the second book in The Hunger Games Trilogy. It is a young adult, dystopian science fiction that takes place on Panem, which was once the continent of North America, at an unknown futuristic date. The story is told in a first person narrative from the point of view of the main protagonist, Katniss Everdeen. Suzanne Collins has also written The Underland Series plus a couple of other books written for youths.

The story started out a bit slow, but quickly built up steam and the pressure kept building and building to an exciting, shocking and unexpected ending.  I enjoyed the writing, especially the detailed pictures describing the arena and the events that occurred within.  This is an original series with an interesting look at what happens when a small group of elitists suppress the masses into slavery.

I enjoyed this book, I am curious to see where the story is going so I will read the next book in the series. If you enjoy reading dystopian science fiction books that are aimed at young adults, then you should give this series a try. Just be sure to read the books in order.
To purchase: “Catching Fire” from Amazon, click here or on picture above

Series Navigation

3 thoughts on “Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.