Covet by J. R. Ward

This entry is part [part not set] of 1 in the series Fallen Angels
  • Covet by J. R. Ward

Book Review: 3 Treasure Boxes
A Novel of the Fallen Angels, Book 1
Publisher: Brilliance Audio, Listening Length: 14 hours and 42 minutes (496 pages), ASIN: B0031KN6X4

Earth is the playing field and the game is a never ending struggle of good versus evil between the demons and the angels; using human souls to determine the score. The weight of each person’s soul is measured by the moral value of his deeds. But now the two teams have decided to put all their money on one player; one person who’s responsible to save seven souls balanced on a knife edge between good and evil. If he can help them all move up onto the side of good, then humanity wins and the demons will be banished forever. Covet is the first battle and it all rests on the shoulders of Jim Heron.

J.R. Ward is the pen name of Jessica Bird and she uses it for the paranormal romance novels that she has written. These include the Black Dagger Brotherhood and the Fallen Angel series. There are currently four books in the Fallen Angel series and book five is expected to be released in September 2012. These books are told in a third person narrative alternating the point of view between several of the characters, but primarily from the point of view of the main protagonist Jim Heron.

The Fallen Angel series is an interesting concept with a unique twist on good against evil. Ms. Ward gave us a good insight into who the three main characters are, and she did good job a showing us why they would be motivated to act and respond the way that they did.  I liked the world that she creates, although I myself do not buy into the idea that it is up to one man to influence the balance between good and evil in the world.  I also do not buy that there is such a fine line between good and evil, but leaving that aside, the concept was well thought out and presented.

This is a standalone story, and it leads really nicely into the next book in the series. I recommend this book as a good read, and I am interested to see where the story is going so I am probably going to read the next book in the series, Crave.


To Purchase: “Covet” from Amazon, click here or on picture above

1 FREE Audiobook RISK-FREE from Audible

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.