Gregor and the Marks of Secret by Suzanne Collins

This entry is part [part not set] of 5 in the series The Underland Chronicles

Book Review: 3 Treasure Boxes
The Forth Book in The Underland Chronicles
Publisher: Listening Library, Listening Length: 7 hours and 20 minutes (343 pages), ASIN: B001FVJHWU

What is the mysterious Prophesy of Time and how does it concern Gregor? Gregor’s mother is recuperating in the Underland and Gregor and Boots go often to visit her, while there, Gregor trains with Ripred to improve his rager skills. Soon Gregor and Luxa receive word that the mice are in trouble and sneak off to help with the aid of a few friends.

This is the fourth of five books in The Underland Chronicles. It is a fantasy book aimed at 9 to 12 year olds, but can also be classified as Young Adult. The story primarily takes place on earth in the Underland, far below New York City. The story is told in the third person narrative from the point of view of the main protagonist, 12 year old Gregor. Suzanne Collins has also written The Hunger Games plus a couple of other books written for youths.

This series follows a great story line. It continues in this book which was interesting and captivating from the first page. Gregor and Luxa’s relationship deepens and solidifies. Gregor faces and has to deal with his own fallibility. Once again Ms. Collins explores discrimination and she even deals with the idea of genocide. There was plenty of action, some of it pretty gruesome.  The material is pretty mature even though the story is aimed towards children.

Gregor and the Marks of Secret is not a standalone story, it was more like the end of a part.  In order to see what happens next, we will need to read the final book in the series, Gregor and the Code of Claw.  I will  be quickly picking it up to read as I am quite anxious to see how everything unfolds.  I highly recommend this series and I really enjoyed this fourth installment.  Hopefully, the series will have a great ending.

To Purchase: “Gregor And The Marks Of Secret” from Amazon, click here or on picture above.

Happy Holidays! Download a FREE audiobook today!

Series Navigation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.