Changes by Jim Butcher

This entry is part [part not set] of 13 in the series The Dresden Files
Book Review
Book Review

Book Review of Changes: 3 Treasure Boxes
Book twelve of The Dresden Files
Publisher: Penguin Audiobooks, Audible Audio Edition, Listening Length: 15 hours and 28 minutes (560 pages,) ASIN: B003FOOGG2

Harry will do almost anything to save a helpless female, but when that girl is his 8 year old daughter, he becomes unstoppable. He goes up against all the odds and will do whatever it takes to save this innocent little soul.

Changes is the twelfth book in The Dresden Files. Jim Butcher has written 14 books in this series, and he is currently working on book 15. He has also written 6 books in the Codex Alera Series, which is closer to high fantasy than The Dresden Files. See my review of these books at The Dresden Files are considered contemporary fantasy and are sometimes referred to as urban fantasy. They also fall into the detective genre since Harry is a detective, who is also a wizard, and in each book he solves a case involving the supernatural. These stories are told in the first person narrative from Harry Dresden’s point of view.

This book was heart wrenching, endearing, extremely sad, and jam packed full of action. There was a lot of tension throughout which kept building and building up to a shocking conclusion, as well as revealing some surprising facts about Harry’s family. While reading Changes, I gasped when Harry was faced with a devastating choice between the lesser of evils, and as the story unfolded I could see how well the title fit. There were several disastrous events that occur throughout this book, including a jaw dropping cliff-hanger at the end.

I recommend Changes as a very good read, plus I found it hard to put down and I also highly recommend all the books in this series, which are all very well written. The characters are all well developed and the story line is great. Although, with the ending as it was, I did not feel this book fell into the standalone category that the other books occupied. I am very anxious to see what is going to happen next, so I have started the next book in the series, Ghost Story.
To Purchase: “Changes” from Amazon, click here or on picture above

Get 1 free audiobook credit at!

Series Navigation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.