Proven Guilty by Jim Butcher

This entry is part [part not set] of 13 in the series The Dresden Files
Book Review
Book Review

Book Review of Proven Guilty: 3 Treasure Boxes
Book Eight of the Dresden Files
Publisher: Roc (February 6, 2007), Mass Market Paperback: 576 pages, ISBN-10: 0451461037, ISBN-13: 978-0451461032

There are monsters mauling and murdering people at a convention. Harry is now an unlikely warden for the White Counsel and needs to investigate, plus he is secretly exploring the anomalies within the Fae courts because there is a traitor operating on the Counsel. The war against the Red Vampire Court is not going well, and Molly, the grown daughter of Harry’s friend, Michael, a Knight of the Sword and a true fighter against evil, is in trouble. Harry has a heavy load, but in true Dresden form, he takes care of business.

Proven Guilty is the eighth book in The Dresden Files. Jim Butcher has currently written 14 books in this series. He has also written 6 books in the Codex Alera Series, which is closer to High Fantasy than the Dresden Files. See my review of these books at The Dresden Files are considered Contemporary Fantasy and sometimes are referred to as Urban Fantasy. They can also fall into the Detective genre since Harry solves a case in each book. Each book is told in the first person narrative from Harry Dresden’s point on view as we follow him through his life while he solves his current case.

Proven Guilty has plenty going on and it is spellbinding from the first to the last page. There is lots of action interspersed with the reveal of some interesting new facts. The book begins with the execution of a teenage wizard who violated the rules of magic and caused the death of his family. For Harry, this is too close to home considering his history and it also adds a sense of weight onto Molly’s illegal use of magic. Molly is a great character and she adds a fascinating new dimension to the storyline.  The depth of detail that Mr. Butcher uses to describe the scenes within the Winter court is really well executed.

This is a standalone story which builds up to a fabulous and exciting ending, but the books should be read in sequence for the best appreciation of the characters and the world that Mr. Butcher creates. I recommend this book as a very good read. I am anxiously looking forward to reading the next book in the series, White Night.

To Purchase: “Proven Guilty” from Amazon, click here or on picture above


Series Navigation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.