Summer Knight by Jim Butcher

This entry is part [part not set] of 13 in the series The Dresden Files

Book Review: 2 Treasure Boxes
Book Four of the Dresden Files
Publisher: Roc (September 3, 2002), Mass Market Paperback: 371 pages, Language: English, ISBN-10: 0451458923, ISBN-13: 978-0451458926

Harry has started a war between the Wizards and the Red Court Vampires, the sky is raining toads, then Harry is attacked and must defend off several combatants. This is just the beginning. Summer Knight takes place nine months after the end of the last book where Susan was infected by the Red Vampire Court. She was bitten so many times that she is close to becoming a vampire herself. She has the thirst for blood but has not yet indulged it. Once she does she will become a vampire. During the fight where this occurred Harry attacked the Red Court to save Susan and that is how the war started.

Summer Knight is the fourth book in The Dresden Files. Jim Butcher has currently written 12 books in this series with book 13 due July 26, 2011.  He has also written 6 books in the Codex Alera Series, which is closer to High Fantasy than the Dresden Files.  See my review of these books at The Dresden Files are considered Contempory Fantasy and sometimes are referred to as Urban Fantasy.  They can also fall into the Detective genre since Harry solves a case in each book. Each book is told in the first person narrative from Harry Dresden’s point on view as we follow him through his life while he is solving his current case

This book starts right in with lots of action which continues throughout the book. Susan has left both Harry and the city of Chicago while she fights her demons.  Since Harry feels responsible he has been spending all his time trying to find a cure for Susan.  However there does not seem to be one. Harry is suffering under the stress of this and his life is falling apart.  He is close to eviction in both his office and his home and he is in terrible shape both physically and emotionally. Soon he is dragged into trouble in the Faerie courts where he must get involved in order to help the wizards in their battle against the vampires.

There is the introduction of numerous new characters, particularly both Summer and Winter Faeries. The most notable person is Harry’s lost love, who he thought was dead. Billy and the Alphas play a big part in this book, but Michael does not. We learn a lot about how the Faery courts work.  There are two courts, Summer and Winter, with Summer being a bit more forgiving towards humanity but both courts are harsh and cruel. We learn that each court is ruled by three queens: the Queen Mother (the Queen who was), the Queen (the Queen who is) and the Lady (the Queen who will be.) 

There is lots of action in this book.  The story is pretty deep and it has a mystery as well as twist that is not revealed until the final chapters. Harry must find out who murdered the Summer Knight, which he does.  Harry is also given the opportunity in the book to help out Susan with some interesting consequences.  I was fascinated to see how Harry handled this challenge.

I liked the ending of the story.  I thought it was imaginative,  I also liked that although the story is unfolding over time, each book is a complete story unto itself. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series to see what new kind of trouble Harry can get himself into. I highly recommend this book. If you enjoy reading a good detective story encasing paranormal activities with a strong, honourable hero then give this series a try.  However, you should read the books in order as the overall story does build even if each book is stand alone.

Series Navigation

One thought on “Summer Knight by Jim Butcher”

  1. I needed to thank you for this great read!! I definitely enjoying every bit of it We’ve you bookmarked to view new items you post…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.