Memories of Ice by Steven Erikson

This entry is part [part not set] of 4 in the series Malazan Book of the Fallen

Book Review: 3 Treasure Boxes
Third Novel in the Malazan Book of the Fallen Series
Publisher: Bantam Press (Jan 14 2003), Mass Market Paperback: 1200 pages, Language: English, ISBN-10: 0553813129, ISBN-13: 978-0553813128

I really enjoyed this book.  The story continues to grow in depth and complexity. It takes place simultaneously with the second book. There is an introduction of a new bad guy, the Pannion Seer and his incredibly weird army. The book still follows the Bridgeburners and gives more information about their background.

Steven Erikson is the author of the Malazan Book of the Fallen Series which comprises 10 books and 4 novellas.  Memories of Ice is the third book in this long and complex story-line.  The genre is fantasy and the multifarious story takes place in a non-technological age with the use of magic involving many different peoples. There are the human people of Genabackis who are descendants of the T’lan Imass. There are T’lan Imass a group of people who are one of the founding races that underwent a ritual ( so long in the past that it predated the ascension of humans) that has made them immortal . There is the Jaghut, a race that was so dangerous the T’lan Imass undertook to completely annihilate them and it was this that brought about the ritual. The Tiste Andii, a non-human elder race that is very powerful and has use of magic. There are also Gods, who are called Ascendants. There are others as well. Some individuals have access to magic.  The magic is accessible through warrens which are pathways that exist outside of the world and are believed to have been created by the Dragons. The Deck of Dragons, which is a deck of cards that is associated with the Ascendants, can be used to foretell the future.  Soletaken are humans or creatures that can change their forms into animals.

There are all kinds of intrigue and secret plots, including the apparent separation between the Bridgeburners and the Empire and there are alliances made with old enemies. Also, things start coming to light about Tattersail, a former Cadre Sorceress from the 2nd Army, who we thought had possibly died. We also learn more about the T’lan Imass and their role in the story. We learn alot more about what is really going on and who is actually behind it all. Ganoes Paran’s role and abilities keep growing in a very interesting manner.

This book was very detailed with lots of action and fighting scenes, some of it pretty gruesome. But overall I found the machinations to be captivating and I really enjoy reading about these characters. I am definitely going to read the next book in the series since there is lots left to happen and I am curious to see where this is all heading.  The books need to be read in order, none of them are stand alone. If you enjoy reading fantasy and want to luxuriate in a long story then I recommend this book to you.  Keep in mind this is not your typical fantasy, but if you are willing to give it a go and keep on plodding through, I think you too will be hooked.

Series Navigation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.